Meeting Someone Else With Your Name

You’ve probably done the same thing I’ve done over the years: Check the phone book to see how many other people have the same name as you.

So I know they’re out there, but I had never had a chance to meet another Scott Gordon.  Until the other day when I was doing a story.

It was about a professional fisherwoman named Helen Gordon, and about how she’s fighting for tougher boating laws.  She’s teamed up with the family of a teenage girl who was killed on Lake Lewisville a few years ago.

When I first talked to her via e-mail, I told her that Helen was my grandmother’s name.  Then, she did me one better.  She told me her husband’s name was Scott.  Scott Gordon.  Hey, that’s my name!

It got a little stranger when I met him when we shot our story at the lake.  I reached out my hand as I always do when I meet someone new, and I blurted out my name.  “Scott Gordon, nice to meet you.”

We both got smiles on our faces.

 

0 Responses to “Meeting Someone Else With Your Name”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Visit the other NBC 5 Blogs by clicking this icon.